2024 Christopher Steele Award: Sue Johnson

June 20, 2024

Please join us in congratulating Sue Johnson on receiving the 2024 Christopher Steele Award. Sue was hired to work at Charles Wright Academy in 2005 to work in the CWA Admissions office and has since transitioned to Facilities where she currently works full-time and provides administrative assistance to the team there including Facilities, Grounds, and Transportation. 


Read below what nominators had to say about Sue: 


“Sue consistently helps all divisions with ongoing tasks and goes above and beyond her job description. She remains after hours when needed to complete deadlines for projects, work orders, or even simple requests. She has a great work ethic, excellent customer service, and amazing ideas.”


“I hired Sue many years ago to be the Admissions Secretary and Receptionist. She excelled in that position; as the first person at CWA that many families met, she made everyone feel welcome and important. She was always willing to help with events, programs, and whatever else the Admissions Office was doing. I have not worked closely with her since she moved to her current position, but I’m sure that she continues to be the same helpful, kind, and committed employee and colleague she has always been. She is helpful, reliable, organized, positive, and someone who makes the rest of her team better.”

The Christopher Steele Award was established by the family of Christopher Steele in 2006 to recognize a deserving Charles Wright Academy staff member who consistently goes above and beyond their job description to benefit the school and its students, faculty, and staff. 


Christopher Steele was a graduate of Charles Wright Academy from the class of 1982, he benefitted deeply from his experience at CWA. After a long battle with cancer, Christopher passed away in 2022. He was a soccer player, an outdoor enthusiast, and a talented artist. In addition, he took an active part in drama productions, both onstage and backstage, and faculty recall his passion for hiking and climbing during outdoor trips. 


Past Christopher Steele Award Recipients: 


2006 – Phyllis Kriese

2007 – Kay McDougall

2008 – Tresea Miller

2009 – Mary Franzen

2010 – Randy Scafturon

2011 – Holly Coates

2012 – Joann MacKay

2013 – Nancy Schneider

2014 – Jim Dale

2015 – Lauren McMason

2016 – Sheila Clemons

2017 – Amy Senftleben

2018 – Mandy Marcellis

2019 – Wendy Troyer

2020 – Betty Schultz

2021 – Coda Murray

2022 – Matt Charlton

2023 – Randy Scafturon